an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

Something Yet to Be Discovered

I am not sure what to say here today - bear with me.

I've always believed everything happens for a reason: the doors that you must pass through will open in time. Today I received some news, that, for all intensive purposes, should have crushed me more. Have you ever fooled yourself into thinking you want something? I don't think I was quite fooled, but I do think I knew in my heart that I was going to stay here in Boston for another year.

So today I went back to the MFA (the ticket is good for one repeat visit within 10 days) and sat in the Chihuly exhibit and wrote, and wrote, and wrote. And I felt good about it. I talked to several little old ladies about his work, going on and on (probably rambling). I had an incredibly genuine interaction with the guy printing my readmission ticket. And I sat on the main steps and people watched, still writing. I took off my soaking wet shoes (it poured all day: fitting) and sat barefoot on some old museum steps for over an hour.

And when I left I took a nice young woman's survey, and we talked, and I told her about this bike trip I did, and I felt so full, and everything felt right.

And as I rode the packed green line to transfer at Park, and then the empty red line up to meet two friends to go thrifting, I realized that I have made a community here. And they have something more to teach me.

A few great items at the shop (a dress with giraffes!), we ride the red line home and part ways. I have barely eaten all day (no appetite) and I sit down on my couch, all ready to watch the recorded House episode and eat tortilla chips.

Of course, Boston had another plan. Chelsea texts me; her and her boyfriend are going to a show that a friend of theirs is playing. I should go.

So I put on my new giraffe dress, my loafers, tights, and cardigan - I throw my orange coat on and take my umbrella and walk to Central (again). I am out on a Wednesday (yikes) but luckily I am currently off work. So, a day started badly is in fact nothing but good news. Things are falling into place, there is so much adventure and knowledge to be had.

I'm ready to learn.

EDIT: I am behind on comments but will catch up tonight. It's been an interesting couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.