Cassie at Peartree

By nuthatch63

Ida

My friend 'the Brazilian' has gone back to Brazil - who knows how long for, or whether he will be back sometime. I said I would look in on his mum - (as I often do anyway) and took her some hellebores from my garden.

She is nearly 92, and a lovely spirited lady - now confined to an awful care home - (well comfortable and efficient, but soulless) I knew what would happen - she started by apologising for not being able to offer me a cup of tea - as she had always done for years to all guests. Luckily one of her other sons had left her some sherry - so we just had to have that! (She had already had at least one with him!)
I did not have the heart to say I had given up alcohol for Lent - so i just had a little one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.