dsyglsy

By dsyglsy

record store day

to celebrate record store day - we took a trip to our local independent record shop, one up, to buy some music. one up has been going in aberdeen for as long as I can remember, first a tiny shop in diamond street, then a bigger shop on belmont street. I must confess that most of the time I've spent in both shops has mainly been to hang about waiting on my brother, a former boyfriend or my husband to flick through hundreds of vinyl records...and hours later to make the purchase. most of that time was with my brother who seemed to spend most of his teenage years and twenties in there - and because I usually listened through my bedroom wall to his vinyl then relocated what I liked to my turntable when he was out - this time wasn't completely wasted. I bought myself some vinyl there too - mainly smashing pumpkins and jane's addiction, and remember making a point of being there for the day that jesus jones were serving behind the counter (quite fancied the singer at the time, haha) ahhh, the nineties...*sigh*

it's only now when digital downloads threaten great record shops like this that I think we should all make the effort to buy more music in here instead of on itunes or amazon. I bought an arcade fire cd today and it was much nicer than just downloading it. and I would urge all aberdonian blippers that will, of course, be buying the new lorelei album on may 16th - to get it from one up! they are also playing in-store on 14th may, plug, plug...

in other news - my ponceblip from wednesday (featuring the poncetastic bettyspaghetti) will be in the scotland on sunday newspaper tomorrow! *chuffed*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.