"Look what your bloody cat made me do!"

Noticed Archie from my bedroom window this morning trying to get something in nextdoors pathway. Knowing how many slow worms are about now they are coming out of hibernation and that fact that he has caught about 3 so far this year I popped out to check. Sure enough he was trying to catch the wiggling shedded tail of an adult slow worm and I could see the slow worm itself trying to hide up against a couple of dandelions. Decided to move it as the tail only wiggles for about 10-15 mins and Archie has a very long attention span and there was nowhere for it to go. Obviously I had to blip it first and this was my favourite. Although the back is quite out of focus it shows how perfectly they shed the tail. I've moved it into a bushy garden futher down the road and within a few weeks it's tail will have regenerated. Hopefully it will go on to lead a long life, who knows it may be a relative of this one.


A lovely day for us today. Properly our last looking after baby Ela as she starts nursery next week. Spent a lot of time in the garden and paddling pool which was great fun. Erin and Jack also planted more seeds for their garden ready for summer veggies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.