Today's the day

By sheilwill

Tulips

Today's the day .................... for the real McCoy

Apparently the expression the real McCoy is a corruption of the Scots the real MacKay. It first appeared in 1856 in the Scottish National Dictionary which also says that the phrase was later adopted as a slogan to promote G Mackay & Co Ltd's whisky. It is used in much of the English-speaking world to mean "the real thing" or "the genuine article".

I'm using it here to describe my tulips because as the song says - they're from Amsterdam. (It's worth following the link just for the comments that people have put on?!) They were given to me by my good friend John when he was working there a while back. He also gave me some delicious Gouda cheese - which was also the real McCoy.

He's now working in Munich .........................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.