It just sort of clicked.

By shaunm

The last patrol

Had a really nice time with Richard today... we went up to the moors and walked along the river Dart.

There was a coach load of German students there as we arrived... I was tempted to say something to them in german but I chickened out... shame as they seemed quite a friendly bunch.

We then saw them a little later marching along this ridge... it didn't half make me think of a WW2 film... they jumped up and down and waved at us, shame I didn't catch that actually.

They sparked a conversation with Richard about what the German word for chicken was (I had forgotten :S I was looking it up on my phone but he had invented a new word for it instead anyway... eimachervogel ... made me chuckle anyway...

We had some fun taking a long exposure of a mini waterfall (see my link below)... it was a 20 second exposure but there was too much light and with no neutral density filters we had to improvise - we got two polarising filters and had them at different orientations... worked a treat! we're trying to work out if there are some unintended side effects from this approach... needs more experimentation anyway!

Talking of exposure, Richard gave me a book for my birthday called "Perfect Exposure" by Michael Freeman (which he, Richard that is, said he thought it had something to do with making sure you were properly dressed ;) - he was joking! ) looks like a great book actually... nice bit of technical stuff in there which I like and takes it further than the usual "this is the exposure triangle" etc etc.

Heres my other photos from today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.