Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Heron on the Union Canal

I didn't sleep too well last night so when I found myself awake earlier than usual, I decided to take a walk along the canal and the Water of Leith. The air was thick with fog but it was pleasantly warm. I very nearly didn't take my camera out with me, after all, I plan to head in to town for the Beltane Busk later so I'd definitely get a blip then.

As I walked towards one of the rowing huts I saw a large grey shape land in the reeds. That was a heron, I thought to myself, but as I walked on I decided, no it must have been a gull, in fact, maybe it was just a malard distorted by the mist. That was wwhen I spotted it, right there next to me and I was so glad I'd brought my camera. I gently eased open my bag, praying the sound of velcro wouldn't scare it, knelt down, it had seen me, fired off a couple of shots and then it was off as a dog came charging along.

Not the best shot in the world but how often do I get to see a heron!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.