Kath's Journal

By Kathb

The most boring blip in the world

I have had a real downer today. Let's hope tomorrow is a better day.

This is the bird food I make every night - and I haven't even put the sultanas in it yet. I mix peanut flour into a little lard and then mix in porridge oats, a little seed and either chopped apple or sultanas. I must have gone soft in the head. I fed the starlings in winter and now they won't let me stop. They sit in the yard until I take out the dishes. If I take too long about it, they start running round in circles. If that doesn't work they raid the seed out the the feeders designed for the little birds. I have to make this stuff at night because I haven't got time to faff about in a morning.

The dove in yesterday's blip had a bit of an accident today. I don't think it is very smart. It and some of the bigger birds, such as jackdaws and wood pigeons, had been landing inside one of the dishes on the pole feeder but I removed the dish last night so as to discourage these birds from coming into the garden. The dish normally sits inside a circular frame. As usual the jackdaw and wood pigeons landed on the garage roof to survey the area. They left when they could see that there was nothing on the pole feeder. This silly dove, however, bounced of the roof and fell right through the hole in the circular frame. It hadn't realised that the dish was no longer there. It got up and flew off so I am assuming it is okay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.