Family Dog

By Family_Dog

a good read...

Our friend Lucy stopped by today to meet Ida and she brought a new book for Arlo. I'd never heard of 'Dogger' before but it captivated Arlo as soon as we opened it and I have a feeling it will be a firm favourite.

Ida seemed to appreciate our bedtime routine too. She sat contentedly while we read the story and talked about the pictures and then we showed her some black and white and red stripey pictures we all laughed at her crazy, bonkers face as she tried to focus on the images.

Every day brings new smiles and surprises. I forgot how lovely new borns are. And I totally underestimated my little boy. I was so focussed on how he 'might' be jealous and needy and upset that I forgot to think about how he might love her instantly, how he loves to be helpful, how he finds poo the funniest thing in the world and how he had always wanted a little sister.

Turns out he always had the capacity to be an amazing big brother. As Arlo would say 'Silly Mummy'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.