Life with Gaia

By happyyoga

Mottled Ducks

This pair of Mottled Ducks is managing to live on the smallest of ponds, which as this photo illustrates has almost dried up. (The area where the ducks are can be seen way in the back by the drainage pipes.) It leaves me hoping so for rain, as I am sure they are about to be nesting soon.

The male is in the foreground. I noticed he always kept between the female and me. Very nice guy I'd say!

This is in an area that has been designated for preservation within a very large planned community here. Leaving small areas for wetlands and preservation is nice and all, but when we don't link them together, it still offers a real challenge to wildlife.

I tried to walk around the planned community and take photos of stores and baseball fields and stuff, but ended up finding a preserve to walk in. Ahhhh...that felt good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.