The Hazyland Boys

By TheHazylandBoys

Childhood Memories

The dogs and I are in Middelfart on Fyn (the island in the middle of Denmark) for the last 2 days of my Conflict Coach training. Hopefully I will - if I pass the exam - be a certified Conflict Coach before we go home tomorrow night.

We arrived to Middelfart early this morning. I took the dogs for a wonderful walk on the beach. They then slept in the car, whilst I was attending the seminar. They had a shorter walk in the woods at lunch and we went to the beach again in the afternoon. We are now in the B&B, where we are staying overnight. The dogs have had dinner and are fast asleep, tired from all the running and swimming.

My Grandma used to live in Middelfart. She died when I was 12 or 13 years old. I didn't see her very often as I grew up in Iceland and Greenland, but we lived in Denmark quite close to her for about 6 mth and we visited once every 2nd year when we were on holiday in Denmark.

As I drove through the town early this morning, I suddenly spotted this tower and it brought back some childhood memories.

I was always impatient and eager to see my Grandma, when I was a child and we arrived to Middelfart. It felt like the journey there had lasted forever, but when I saw this tower, I knew, that we were nearly there! Just 2 more turns and we would be on her street 'Sixtusvænget'.

I went back to the tower on our way to the B&B and I also found the street my Grandma lived on. Unfortunately I didn't remember which house(-number) she lived in and it looked different, but it felt good to be there. I have some very happy memories about my Grandma.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.