middleman

By middleman

Hawtin

A domestic day based around errands and children.

Have been re-acquainting myself today with the great sounds of Plastikman, brooding and hypnotic minimal Detroit techno from the mid/late 90s. The less dance-based nature of Consumed was always a personal favourite, it seemed to fit the urban environment perfectly when I used to listen to it walking home from anywhere late at night.

Fitting too that the subject matter that I've been fascinated by recently, namely the demolition of the Fountainbridge Brewery, should mirror the utter urban dereliction and decay of Detroit. There were some amazing photographs featured earlier this year in The Guardian by Yves Marchand and Romain Meffre that document the decline in a very aesthetically appealing way.

Best have a tune I guess before I go...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.