must try harder

By halfcj

Write-off

There are some days you just have to write off.

Days when nothing really goes to plan. Nothing goes your way. Your only luck is bad luck. Things break, others don't work. You pop out in the sunshine and it rains before you get back. No Jacket.

You take your camera out, not realising the battery's pretty much dead. That's the day you see a perfect blipping opportunity. A young girl riding a bike....hesitate to say a freakish, but my goodness, she had the longest legs I have EVER seen. Looked about 13 and must have been 7 foot tall. So annoyed to miss it.

Had a Costa coffee by way of compensation. Dropped two sugars in. No, I mean dropped them in, wrappers and all! Had to fish them out and get two more. Missed my bus back by seconds. Had to stand around waiting over 15 mins for the next. That's when it started raining. Perfect. One minute, sun, not constant, but enough to feel like early summer. Reckon the good lord decided it was bedtime and flicked the switch. Managed to get the last seat on the bus, for one stop. Old lady hobbled on and the youngsters in the next seats were too busy playing Gameboys or DS or whatever to even consider gallantry. She was sweet though and very grateful.

Once home, the rain stopped and the clouds took a slightly different shape even though still acting as a blanket over my day. I shot them out of our bedroom window as I felt they had become quite dramatic.

I know, now's the time to try one of those HDR shots, make some adjustments, gotta be easy right? - Had I forgotten what type of day it had become? Just couldn't get it to look anything but wierd - like looking at some kind of cartoon through bloodshot eyes! (OK - for the pedantic amongst you, that's probably no different to normal eyes, but use your imagination, I was trying to be creatively descriptive for you!).

I still wanted to try and show the dramatic sky so just blended a Linear layer in PS for the sky and applied my normal processing, which is still a bit wacky, but better than the HDR.

But let's face it, there are some days you just have to write off.

Oh, and another PS for Blipfoto - Check out my exif data? Second time this week. What's that about?

Oh, and viewed large, the sky comes into it's own!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.