A Pic is Worth a 1000 Words.

By AgrawalKrish

D-Day

A Big day in our family. It's my younger brother's marriage today. As per Hindu Calendar This day of the year (Akshaya Tritiya) is one of THE MOST auspicious days. People go mad shopping Gold and other valuables, Couples feel it's best to tie knots on this day, Any new beginning on this day is assumed to go well. Since such days are very few in a year countrymen & women just go crazy on these days. In our town every other street will have 1 or 2 marriages going on, all the Marriage Halls would be booked, VERY difficult to find rental vehicle / Drivers. Since my brother's marriage was in a nearby city we all were supposed to go by car early morning so that we can reach there as per MUHURAT. We all got dressed-up and were eagerly waiting for the cars to come.
The fully decorated car in which Groom had to go came little late but when we didn't see any more Car / SUV showing up contacted the manager; He says he's not able to reach the driver(s). WHAT ??? we had to travel almost 1 hour so we must start NOW. My mom panicked, since we were getting late, she called the manager and said, we don't need his Car / Driver anymore & canceled the bookings. She borrowed the key of our Tenant's car and asked me to drive; You Kidding me ?? I don't know how to drive Indian Cars. I've learnt driving in USA and I never have driven any car with Gear / Clutch. My mom started bleeding on her face; She assumed I've been driving in USA for almost 4 years so I must be able to drive Indian Car too. We tried to contact manager again but his phone went OFF the NETWORK (probably he switched it off).

WHAT TO DO NOW ??? My mom went out of control, I said don't worry, lets not jump on the problem, we will sort it one by one. Most IMP person Groom needs to be there, so I let my Parents, Aunt & Brother go in the first Car. My mom initially requested the Cameraman to drive our tenant's car, but he refused, after my parents & brother left, Our Tenant tried to reach his driver but he was also not picking up the call. I was just enjoying all these drama.

Finally don't know what came into cameraman (Mr. Ajay's) mind, he said give me the keys I'll drive it. Wow.. He turned out to be a real savior. Since he had never driven this Car before, he was stopping it after every other mile :) it was fun drive.

We were not too late, marriage started as scheduled and everything went very well. I clicked this when Bride & Groom were entering our home for the first time and my Mom was welcoming them.

Very exciting beginning of the day.. They say "All's Well That Ends Well" :)
... It did end very well.

*It's a Backblip# 01*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.