The Meldrum Michies

By meldrummichies

Cocktail Hour?

I bought this rather lovely enamel tray at the weekend. I thought it would be made even more lovely by the addition of cocktails; I had visions of making the perfect Martini, throwing caution to the wind and trying my hand at a proper mojito. Unfortunately our booze cabinet does not really have the makings of proper cocktails. The only time I did try to make Lycheenies, I had to go to London to get the lychee liquor* and send a search party into Sainsbury's in Aberdeen to try and find lychees.

The cocktail glasses here belonged to my grandparents. A few years ago they were clearing out some stuff they didn't want/need any more and these came to us. My grandpa also gave me his old cocktail shaker (much to my gran's disapproval, it is broken you see and even she thought that it should have been thrown out). When I was wee I spent many a happy evening with my extended family watching them all getting sozzled on "cocktails" (vodka and lemonade? Bacardi and coke?) My grandpa was the first person to introduce me to the delights, and sophistication of a cocktail. I had a whisky and lemonade (with sugar around the rim of the glass...funcy) to bring in the bells when I was about eleven. Whisky at eleven - it's a wonder I've made it (relatively) unscathed into adulthood.


*Okay, I was actually in London so I don't suppose you could class that as *going* to London to find it but still - they don't have it up at the Keystore in Meldrum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.