Memories

I took this picture of some "past their prime" dandelions and it reminded me of a very old song:
"She may have seen better days, when she was in her prime,
She may have seen better days, once upon a time.
Though by the wayside she fell, she may yet mend her ways.
Some poor old mother is waiting for her
who has seen better, heard better, known better days"

My "papa" was in his sixties when I was born and I am 67. My father's birth certificate was lost in a fire but he was definitely born in the 1890's. He and his mother traveled "out west" in a stagecoach when he was a young man and before he died, a man had landed on the moon! Amazing!
My sister and I learned songs from that era and from his days in vaudeville. My mother was fifteen years younger and danced through the "flapper" era. We learned all those songs, too. My oldest sister was nine years older than me so I listened to all of her music, I listened to the music of the late fifty's and the sixty's as a young girl. I had teenage daughters in the seventies, again in the eighties and the nineties! Some of my girls preferred rock, some country, some jazz. I liked it all!

Wow! and this was all over droopy dandelions!



The result? Almost anything anyone says to me, reminds me of a song!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.