Did you know that bats can swim?

I certainly didn't, not until tonight.

I'm certain it wasn't by choice, I mean I doubt the bat decided it needed to tone it's pecs and thought a few laps of the butterfly would provide some toning for that summer bikini.

I most likely suspect that while catching mayflies or lacewings, it exceeded the boundaries of air and accidentally penetrated the void of water below. I doubt this is an everyday occurence for a bat, yet somewhere in it's mammalian past it had aquired and still maintained an innate but marginal ability to swim...

I remained at a distance so as to not accidentally drown the tiny creature and to avoid a chance encounter with it's teeth. It succeeded in reaching the haven of a sheltering pine skeleton and the nearby shore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.