Appreciate

By Appreciate

Coal Tit

My garden is full of birds but the smallest of them all is the coal tit. So delicate and so vulnerable, yet one of the boldest at the feeders.

I visited Cardwell Garden Centre with my parents and their friends several years ago and on the way out watched the birds. I watched scores of small birds come and go from feeders and water dishes. I admired the tiny coal tit in its endeavour to get as much as it could from the feeders and vie for position amongst the bigger birds.

I returned home to the Borders and re-created a similar envirnoment in my garden. Bird watching is now one of my favourite past-times.

I have binoculars by the kitchen window to keep a keen watch on all birds who drop in.

One morning,, I had the binoculars to my eye watching a tiny wren, when my daughter came through the kitchen on her way to the shower.

Her greeting was "Morning geek!!"

I was proud to be different -

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.