A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Fairy

I spent the day in Pitlochry today. I entered the Etape Caledonia some time ago but have had an annoying knee problem which means I haven't trained much and which is still ongoing. To save myself the embarrassment of having to get towed home at the halfway point I withdrew entry.

Luckily this elderly bearded gentleman, riding a folding bike and dressed as a fairy cheered me up. I don't know if he intends to ride the event like this. Perhaps he is totally unconnected and just likes to cycle around in a pink fairy outfit.

The Etape Caledonia has been hugely successful but its future is in doubt due to a very small number of very vocal objectors who, in the past have even gone so far as to endanger riders lives by spreading carpet tacks in the road on a steep and twisting descent. This would be a real shame as I did the ride last year and found nothing but support and welcome from everyone in Pitlochry and along the 81 mile route.

Good luck to everyone riding tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.