The List Lady

By listlady

Hole in the Wall

Another busy day - sorry to bore with our domestic upgrades, but his really is taking over my life.

With the trees in the garden having been removed last week (hurrah!), the guys were back this weekend to put fencing up. I now have 7 beautiful concrete fence posts together with 8 beautiful concrete kickboards, all joined together with 24 beautiful arris rails. Tomorrow the fence boards get painstakingly nailed to the arris boards.

Then at lunchtime the guy from the fireplace place arrived to do the prep work for the new fire and surround, so the mantelpiece, tile surround and marble hearth were all taken away, as was the chimney flue and the chimney was swept. Phew! Strangely, the hearth sat directly on the carpet, rather than the usual having it concreted in with the carpet cut round. We really should stop being surprised at the things we find in our house! For earlier views see So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersen... and And there it was... gone!

This afternoon I dropped Becky at her Rainbows' sleepover and, with Hubbie away at his parents overnight, it's just me and Alex until 2pm tomorrow afternoon - we have named ourselves the 'Home Team' and are having lots of fun.

This evening I've discovered the wonders of a stonkingly good steam wallpaper stripper - borrowed - sooooo much better than the usual domestic ones I've tried before.


I really think I need to plan in some 'me' time for when this is all done

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.