Horner Woods - Somerset

A day trip to my folks in Somerset today. We started off heading to the beach. Maya and Flynn were very excited but it was very windy and MT got sand in his eyes in the first few seconds and the dog allowed part of the beach had no sand left as the tide was in... so we headed off to Horner Woods.

Apparently Horner Woods is an ancient oakwood that is an important site for mosses, liverworts, lichens and ferns. Local birdlife includes the pied flycatcher, wood warbler, lesser-spotted woodpecker, redstart and dipper. The woods are also home to 14 of the UK's 16 known bat species, including breeding roosts of barbastelle and Bechstein bats. Not that I noticed any...

A lovely venue and this bridge was great except I had the long lens on so in my efforts to get some of it in the image I had to track down river a little... wellies and stones turned out not to be such a good idea... I went flying and very luckily managed to keep the camera up but I was soaked...for the rest of the walk...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.