Boundary Dwellers

By Hell4Murph

learning to cook

Over the years, as we have left home or sometimes later, my mother has given the Be-Ro book to all her children and now her grandchildren. Whatever we learned by osmosis from her enabled us to follow the instructions and gave us the basics to survive in our first flats and student residences.

Since then., my route to trying to learn from Nigel Slater has been via Poor Cook and The Vegetarian Epicure (thank you!!!), Fan Fare (a surprisingly useful fundraising collection for Pitlochry Festival Theatre), Farmhouse Kitchen (and again, thank you!!!), and Seasonal Cooking. With Claudia Roden, Colin Spencer, Sarah Paston-Williams and others adding the exotic or historic to the mix.

How well can I cook? Well enough for my own family, but no more. However, I love eating so I just keep cooking - and reading, and watching Masterchef (while trying to ignore that voice-over)..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.