not seeing straight

By jaybroek

Repair

Took Mrs B's watch into my favourite local clock repairer in the shop that time forgot. There were three people in front of me and I had the pleasure of watching his sales technique which is completely befitting of his surroundings.

He proudly declares that numerous clocks have been there for months, owners regularly phoning up begging for them back, willing to pay up front. Asked when something might be ready, he simply replies 'I have your phone number'...

That is how to manage expectation.

He elegantly filibustered the man before me in the queue; it would appear he has lost the watch brought in last week for repair but he stalled the customer until their lunch hour was up and they had to leave - leave with a smile, grateful for the opportunity to come back tomorrow and try again.

It was like watching a jedi at work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.