Tales from the Old Mills

By Oldmills

I've Spent All My Money....

....on Whiskey and Beer.

A line from an old Fenian song.

Its said that if you scratch an Irishman, you will find a Republican.

Now I'm more sure of that than ever, but I'm conflicted.

I watched the Queens' Speeches last night (please note the apostrophe. Our Queen is called Mary).

It was...wonderful. Our Queen gently ribbed the English Queen about our successes against England in rugby and cricket.

The English Queen...spoke Irish. I was gobsmacked. The whole entire republic was poleaxed. Just a few words...."Uachtarain, agus a chairde...."

"President, and friends...."

Our Queen actually said "Wow!!"
Twice.

I was told today, by a British subject, that the Queen of England has never before made an address in anything other than,( what else, of course?), the Queens English.

I was proud of both of them.

Its about time we got over the past, stopped kicking the shit out of each other, and realise that we all watch Coronation Street, shop in Boots, and hate the French.

Together, Le Cheile.

And fuck any barstool Chuckies or actual knuckle-walking, die-hard, throwback Provos who might read this and not like it.

Your time is gone.

I want my Child to be raised in this little island group of ours without fearing discrimination based on her seed, breed or denomination.

Her time is now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.