Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

The modern economy.

I had another day on the City fringes today. I had time to mooch around the Old Street area.

There were plenty of interesting sites, quite a lot of street art. I should get myself a local history book to explore the area further.

This view caught my eye. It reminded me of an old photograph I once saw of Newcastle in the shipbuilding era. Rows of Victorian terraced houses led downhill towards the shipyard and all were dwarfed by the giant ship being built.

The similarities here are the narrow streets, the old fashioned lampposts then this huge edifice dwarfing the surrounding area. Only this isn't a ship. The economy is now banking, insurance, finance and medicine.

Processed to give a direct positive look then sharpened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.