Sweet dusty-bones

By sweetdustybones

Turns Out it was Half Empty (this time)

My other half is a happy optimist. Always assuming the best, always thinking that jobs/journeys will take a fraction of the time that they end up taking. I am the opposite.

Today, we decided to get rid of the hazardous fire guard which has turned out to be contradictory to it's original purpose. Toddler likes to climb it, pull it off the wall, get himself stuck behind it, jump on it/off it etc etc. We decided it would be safer to clean out the fire place, toss out the logs (which readily provide splinters for soft little hands), sweep out the coal dust and have an open space instead of a fire.

Husband said it would be a 2 minute job. I said 2 hours. Husband did it in about 7 minutes. I acknowledged that this time, his estimation was closer. I should have more faith in his optimism.

Then...

Toddler went to play in the hole, and emerged looking like a Victorian chimney sweep. I think there may be a lot more scrubbing to be done before it becomes a worthy play space. To be fair, hubs and I balance each other out rather well. We usually meet somewhere in the middle. He pulls me forward encouragingly when I'm uncertain and timid, I urge him to think and be steady when he's charging ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.