12views

By 12views

Achievement...

"My mother drew a distinction between achievement and success. She said that achievement is the knowledge that you have studied and worked hard and done the best that is in you. Success is being praised by others. That is nice but not as important or satisfying. Always aim for achievement and forget about success." - Helen Hayes

Today seven years of study drew to an end, an occasion which is almost so epic I'm not quite sure I get it. No more reading text books at night, no more days off spent taking notes of travelling to tutorials, and thankfully no more essay blips!!

I don't know if my friends get how big this is for me (hence the quote) but it feels amazing to have done this with everything else going on in my life.

A thanks to all those who have supported me, especially Jerry who told me to pick something I enjoyed and study it, Martin who kept me going, Ruth & Lynda for encouragement, Tim for listening to my ramblings, Mum & Dad for not panicking I'd not gone to university, and the people who've helped me smile when at times it's seemed a bit too much.

What's next....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.