Boundary Dwellers

By Hell4Murph

souvenir 2

Approaching midnight and determined to have at least one complete month of blips, here's a second in what could be a series on souvenirs.

This, however, is not from a holiday in some far-flung part of the world. This rabbit came from my Granny Rosemary who, when I visited her as a child, had her old toy rabbit on a shelf above a family of little velvet (?) rabbits, quite possibly Beatrix Potter's Peter Rabbit and the Flopsy Bunnies.

This was a woman who was co-founder of one of Britain's best-known music schools, was a fine musician and teacher, and who had a gently forceful way in a discussion. The rabbit may seem a strange souvenir of such an intelligent and independent woman, but it connects me to my granny in a more personal way than anything from her more public persona would, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.