Meet the Morgans

By familymorgan

bookworm

Amelie rarely plays with her toys, she just loves books. She brings them to us to read, she looks at them herself and she carries them around with her. She has favourites, ones we have to read over and over again.

One of her current favourites is 'The Perfect Hug'. Uncle Donald bought her this book for her birthday, although I picked it.

The Perfect Hug
by Joanna Walsh and Judi Abbot.

There are hugs for wrigglers,
and hugs for gigglers.
Hugs that are tickly,
and hugs that are prickly
But none is exactly the right hug for me!
I'm out to find the perfect kind.

How big is a hug?
A bug may mean well,
but how can I feel his tiny squeeze around my knees?
A boa constricter's hug's a bit STRICTER
than any sort of hug ought to be (at least for me)!

A hug from a grizzly is BIG but scary.
Grin and bear it,
but do be wary.

Then there's the question of arms.
What's too many?

Some have lots.
And some not any!

And what about a jellyfish,
with all those stingers?
I'd hug her with rubber gloves on my fingers.
None of these hugs is quite the height for, not too tight for, oh so right for me.
But...

Could there be hugs light years from here?
Hugs we know nothing about, far out, on stars in a galaxy far far away?
How DO they hug the Milky Way way?

I've tried them all,
short and TALL
BIG and small.

Fantastic hugs!
elastic hugs!
gymnastic, enthusiastic hugs!
But...

Where will I find one that's just my size?

One that will suit me down to the ground?
One that will fit me all the way round?

I've roved the wide seas,
over and under,
and I still wonder...

Do you suppose there might be a hug right under my nose?

Whats the secret?
"Tell!"

"Well...
It's easy peasy.
Don't you know?
It's one plus one.
A hug takes two.''

If you hug me then I'll hug you!


At this point in the story Amelie gives whoever is reading it to her, a huge hug that lasts a very long time. On the 5th and 6th times reading this she usually gets us to read quickly so we can get to the end. I love this book!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.