Appreciation

By Appreciation

Smile for the Camera

When I take my girl to the orthodontists we always have to wait. A Long Time! Generally we wait in a crowded waiting room with too few seats and a large victorian south facing window which lets the sun and heat stream through.

We were not looking forward to it today. With that big old fire ball in the sky blazing away we had visions of melting into a puddle unable to fight back.
On the way, we stopped off to buy some ice chilled water as a half hearted defence.

Imagine our surprise therefore when we were directed to a different waiting room. Still south facing, still with a big window, but one floor down, offering more shade and to our absolute delight - not a soul there.

Combine that with the fact that said waiting room had this outlandish wall art, which appears like the Hall of Mirrors from the fun fair. I was in my element. My girl was in horrors. I was up on the chairs taking shots, I was right in front of the mirrors, I had her sitting underneath, on the floor, smiling - you name it and each time she snarled for me to behave and sit down like any decent parent.

I didn't get caught - and we get to go back in 5 weeks time! Cannae wait.
On the downside my girls mouth is sore and she is back on a diet of soup, pasta and porridge and nurofen for a while. It could also be said that the distortion in these mirrors flatters neither of us, but it did give us such a giggle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.