As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

Hedge's Retirement Party

So, a lot happened today.

I woke up at 6:30 to get ready to take the SAT II Subject Test in Biology today. I didn't think it was as bad as I was expecting. Then me, Alyssa, Lindsey, Jaclyn, Jess, and Brendan went into Cahill's office to organize things. It was very productive.

After that, I went home and took a very long time to type a very long letter to Hedge. Mr. Hedgecock was my cross country coach this past season. He has been coaching for over forty years, first at Lynbrook and then Wantagh. Here's an article all about him if you're interested. He is an amazing man and we were all devastated when we found out that this was his last season coaching us, and even worse, that he was moving to Georgia in the beginning of the summer. We were all so upset, but I was really sad that I only got to run one season with him. He is an amazing and influential man and we will all miss him dearly. Because he affected so many people through his years of coaching and teaching, we held a surprise retirement party for him at the school this evening. So many people that I've never seen before came to thank Hedge for all that he did for them as a coach and a person. The senior girls made a slideshow of pictures from this cross country season (most of them were mine). It was amazing and I think Hedge might have even shed a tear. Then his daughter read a little speech she put together about what a great man and coach he is (he coached both of his children). Coach Coelho made an amazing scrap book with pictures from when he started coaching (1969). It was filled with so many great memories and everyone at the party had something in that book that related to them. I'll post my letter to him below. He really is such an inspiring man and I'll miss him so much when he leaves. :(

After the party I went to Kaitlin's house with Kenny, Jaclyn, Alyssa, Lindsey, and Avery. Me, Kaitlin, and Lindsey swam for a little bit but then we got out because it was too cold. We jumped on her trampoline, made smores, found the big dipper, saw a mouse in her basement, and played Just Dance 2. It was a great night!

This is a picture of me and Hedge.

Here's my letter to Hedge:


Dear Hedge,

I can't even begin to tell you how big of an impact you've made on my life. I knew from the moment that I met you way back in June at the cross country meeting that you had something that most others don't posses. You care. You care about the sport and the people running it. I wish that I had more time to run under your experienced eye, but now isn't the time for regrets. I want you to know how much you mean to me and what a difference you've made in my life, both running-related and not. You took me from running a 16:15 two and a half mile to an 18:52 5k. I've used your advice throughout all of my seasons this year and I plan to use it in the future. Because of the passion for running that you instilled in me, I now run a 4:56 mile and I plan on continuing with my running career all through high school and hopefully through college. You were the rope that tied the team together and made us a family. I have made so many new friends because of the bonds you helped to form during the season. I'll never forget the day when me, Cute Gabby, and Shannon were on a run during winter track and we ran by your house. You were outside moving things form your house to your car and you invited us inside. You really care about us and didn't want us to get cold outside. Your caring attitude is what made you a great coach, and that's what makes us all love you so much. We loved your musings before and after every meet. I saved every one and I'll look back on them in the future to remember what a great season it was for me and the Warriors as a whole. We all learned so much from you and we will carry it with us for the rest of our lives. In particular, I learned the difference between and Irish mist and actual rain. I learned that sometimes you get the bear, and other times the bear gets you. I will never forget all of the enjoyment I felt when I saw you and the rest of the team cheering me on as I raced around the polo field. I ran my two-mile P.R. at Divisions this year because you were there cheering me on and I wanted to make you proud. It isn't often that simply one person's presence is enough to make someone run that fast, and when that happens, you know that person is special. You have affected each and every person that you have coached in different ways, but we can unanimously agree that we will never have a coach as influential, intelligent, or simply as wonderful as you. You had a huge part in shaping the person and runner that I have become and I will never be able to thank you enough for that. I wish you happiness and joy for the rest of your life and I hope you never forget me or any of the other Warriors that love you so much.

Your runner and friend,

Andrew B

I'm going to miss him so much :(

Word of the Day: Foist - To force upon or impose fraudulently or unjustifiably


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.