Vive la Vie

By gillybxl

Quirks

Another afternoon walk to the Bois with the kids to feed/terrorize the ducks today. I took a number of photos of birds, trees, etc, but nothing that really captured the day until I spotted the above sign, which was some distance from where I was standing, so the photo has been cropped considerably, which is why it's a little bit blurred.

Belgium is a great little country, but full of unusual quirks as there is such conflict between French and Dutch speaking Belgians. Therefore, every single sign that you see in Brussels has to be in both languages to keep everyone happy. The above blip is an example of this.

Some days I love the quirks.

Some days I hate the quirks.

Whilst I was blipping the sign, a big dog (a retriever I think - have always been rubbish with types of dogs. Sorry.) came running up behind us trying to lick my baby in his push chair and knock my daughter off her bike. They were a little afraid as the dog was very persistent. The owner who was clearly horrified eventually caught up to where we were and kept apologising in french. I was hoping that my repetition of "pas problem" would suffice. Alas, but no, the owner felt compelled to explain to me the problem and my well rehearsed vacant look appeared as I didn't have a clue what the person was saying. Said person soon cottoned on and realised that I was English, so started speaking to me in english. Lovely, friendly person, it turned out. Turned out the dog was a puppy and just wanted to play etc. It took me a few double takes to realise that the dog owner was a man dressed as a woman. I should have realised when s/he walked away. Lovely calf muscles.

Anything goes here.

Today I like the quirks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.