I'm in Syria!

Long weekend off work. Could have gone diving again, but decided to get another stamp in my passport instead of my diving log. Flew from Amman to Aleppo last night and could have driven there in the time it actually took, after a transit stop in Damascus.

Had a mosey round the old part of the city and went up to the Citadel, the subject of le blip. It was pretty quiet and being a Friday most things, including the souks were closed. Found one that had some life in it though so got some pics. So not as great as I'd hoped - having heard raving reviews from expats that have visited. Still, had cups of tea in outside cafes and soaked up the atmosphere of the conservative Syrian city. Pashmina was used all day!

Weighed up the options: 60,000 SYP for a private car or 160 SYP for a coach to Damascus. That's £60 or £1.60. ......I took the coach! Only took 4hrs plus a refreshment stop. The ticket included a cuppa! Bargain!

Just hatching a plan for my day tomorrow - lots to see here.

Ma'a salaama!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.