Hearts & Balls

Richie Gray is HUUUUUUGE!

He won Player of the Year award tonight at a charity fund-raiser for injured rugby players (if you don't know - he plays rugby for Scotland). He's 6' 10" and weighs 19 stone 8 pounds. When I played, my height of 6' 3" was pretty big - and I played in the same position as he does. I had a quick chat with him -he knows my son Phil who played in the Scotland under 18 squad. Richie is only 21!

A good night tonight in the Old Fruitmarket in Glasgow. Jim Taylor who broke his neck when playing rugby, has been the main guy in organising the Hearts and Balls event now in its second year and which seems to be gaining momentum. John Beattie and Rhona McLeod who work for BBC Scotland act as hosts and John also plays with his band. Rhona was "line-out lifted" by the Glasgow professional team who supported the event well. A friend of mine, Scott Ingles won the coach of the year and the battle-hardened former British Lion, Sandy Carmichael whom I've played against, won the Jim Taylor "legend" award. Big Verne and the Shootahs kept the party going well into the night.

Some of the out-takes are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.