A MIMent In Time

By justmim

OT-saurus

Now, I realise that as someone who is turning 21 in 10 days (!), having a "clever saurus" sticker on the back of my phone is perhaps a little on the silly side of things. However, as much as one part of me realises that, another small part of me wants to keep it there as a reminder of placement :]

The past 8 weeks have seen copious amounts of caffeine consumption, a fair amount of lucubration, several near misses in the oversleeping department and generally one worn out Miriam. However, all that said and done, I genuinely couldn't have asked for a better placement experience!

For a long time it has been in my heart and mind that I wanted to work with children in some context. As such, this placement was huge for me and I really wanted to not only do well in it, but enjoy it. Although I wouldn't have openly admitted it before or during, I think I had been slightly terrified that it would all go bottoms up and I would be left questioning where I was headed!

Thankfully, that never happened :]

I was working with a wonderful wee team of staff, I met some amazing children and was given the opportunity to really get involved with the work.

Throughout the past 8 weeks I have learnt a lot; about occupational therapy and working in paediatrics, yes, but also about myself.

It has been fascinating in so many ways and I wouldn't have changed a thing. Yes there were some aspects more difficult than others, but more than anything they added to the depth of the experience.

On Thursday I had my final report and am pleased to say that I passed with "A", I actually couldn't stop smiling the whole way through my educator's comments - A's on everything! Amazed and relieved, I can finish second year on a high :]

That said...I'm not quite sure what to do with myself now - I miss it already!

Though today my day was made by twice seeing one of the kids in town, she smiled, waved & excitedly proclaimed to her mum "she's OT!".

Time to pack up and say goodbye...summer is here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.