Sheila Matilda's Day

By sheilamatilda

My favourite things (cont)

Couldn't find a kitten for a photo of whiskers so will move on to bright copper kettles, well one no so bright copper kettle. This really does count amongst my favourite things.

There is a story attached to it. According to my mother, who gave me the kettle a few years ago, it was given to her by her father when she was a child.

In 1898, when my grandfather was 4 years old, he was taken into a hardware shop by his mother and refused to leave until she bought him this little copper kettle. I have no idea what it cost but it isn't very big, about 16cms high. When they came out of the shop with new "toy" he immediately hit a little girl on the head with it. Which of the dents in it was caused by this I do not know, but there are many.

My mother used it for making mud pies in the garden which must have accounted for many more of the dents. When she gave it to me it was all bright and shiny as she used to spend a lot of time polishing her "brasses" and the kettle. I have just tried to polish it for this photo but it isn't very bright, but still a favourite thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.