life is wonderful

By elize22

MARATHON MONDAY!

I know I say that all Wellesley traditions are my favorite, but this time I really mean it: MARATHON MONDAY IS MY FAVORITE TRADITION! For those of you who aren't familiar with the day, Marathon Monday is the day of the Boston Marathon. The Boston Marathon is held every year on what is known as Patriot's Day, and all of Massachusetts gets the day off. Wellesley's campus just so happens to sit at the halfway point of the marathon, and has been nicknamed "the Wellesley Scream Tunnel". Every Marathon Monday, Wellesley students line the sidewalk and cheer on the runners. We also give away kisses, which might actually be the reason we're so popular...

It's really hard to describe how amazing the atmosphere is, you just have to be there. For the past two years, I've gotten there early to cheer on the handicap participants race on by and stake out a prime spot with my banner. Last year, I received my first Marathon Kiss from a man painted orange, I kid you not. This year, I didn't get any but I think the girl standing in front of me was going for the record of Marathon Kisses so that was..interesting to watch :)

By the end of the day, my throat was sore from screaming, my ears were ringing from all the noise, and my hand was sore from ringing my cowbell for hours straight, but it was totally worth it. The runners were all amazing and I got to see a man run by in a tutu!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.