Pelicanguy

By pelicanguy

Redwood plants and more

I blipped these understory plants in Redwood Regional Park today. The one with three leaves is a trillium.. it had three showy petals around April, but is going to seed now. The fern is a sword fern.

As I've said I woould... I'm posting a poem, this one written in another redwood forest (Oakland's Joaquin Miller Park in May.) And I heard the bird I'm describing today too.

A SECRET SOMEWHERE Copyright 2011 Paul Belz

Nameless bird hiding near wild cucumber,
Someplace behind redwoods or live oaks..
I can't find you! Your name escapes
Like a small breeze tickling my ear.
"Mrank! Mrank! Mrank!"your call laughs
while I grab junk from my brain?s closets
trying to define you! Why do I care,
when your call flows so quietly through shadows
and the soil?s fungus scent? "Mrank. Mrank."
This is your morse code for your species,
Announcing your hiding place I can?t find.
Somehow, I?m between us, rolling on warm wind.
I'm wild rose red, iris blue. I'm made from my hand,
Cheek, knee, flesh, leaving my tired brain behind.
I can't name you; I'm strong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.