earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

High Traverse

This current sequence of blips has come about entirely by accident. On Monday I took a few extra minutes and met the canal a little further down from the station than usual, catching an incredibly clear and still morning for reflections. It was such a great location that I took the same walk on Tuesday and found more beautiful reflected images, but decided to change the mood by taking a picture from the same spot looking in the opposite direction, towards this very dilapidated old warehouse. Yesterday I had no great plan but took the same walk again just because it was so delightful and only five minutes longer than my usual route. I saw that the overnight rain had left the most exquisite droplets on the reeds at precisely the same spot again.

So come today and I have my blip in mind, a picture of the spot from where the previous three blips were taken. I waited for the right moment and caught just the image I had in my head. It was a wrap! Set off walking, but just as I passed the said spot once more something caught my eye. A snail had climbed a high reed and had reached an improbable looking position. When I came to look at the pictures later I was rather pleased with the results. I really like the curved lines that nature has presented here. But I also liked my original shot. I've been stuck well and truly on the horns of a blipemma. I like both images equally, but they are completely different kinds of picture. How can you choose one over the other.

It's given me quite a headache this, vacillating between the one and the other. In the end I went for the snail to continue the run. I think it's sufficiently different to stand as a good blip in its own right. I'll try to return again tomorrow morning to complete the series in the way that I had intended.

Off out cycling now but look forward to catching up with people later this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.