Frontier

By Frontier

Influences

I tried to do something a little different today. I usually go for the urban style because that's what I like, but stepping out of the comfort zone is productive. I'm a very stubborn person sometimes but being pushed in a new direction is good. My good friend influenced me to buy a toy camera, despite being extremely skeptical at first I eventually bought one and since then it's completely shifted my perspective on things. For about 6 months now I've been trying to combine the uses of both analogue and digital formats and I've been happy to explore new results. Again, without my friend I wouldn't have come up with some of the ideas I've had recently.

I tried to do something painterly today. My style is rather clinical at most times and it hasn't got much soul. Trying to take portraits is a difficult process, for example, because I simply can't communicate effectively to people in this manner. Hopefully, slowly I can ge there. Step by step I'm trying to put more "life" in things in order to become more organic. Maybe I'll stick to it, maybe I won't, but in the long-term if I choose to go back to my original style I can add more depth to it. Hopefully anyway.

I was thinking of my art teacher at school while doing this and back at school she forced me to stop using computers for my folio to get on the pastels and charcoal. It helped a lot and out of my comfort zone was violent imagery, according to her. She also introduced me to Impressionism and Futurism which I both love insatiably. All of this influence from the past culminates to the now. Continued learning and openess can really build better inroads to communication and expression.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.