Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Loch Fyne Heron

On the way back from the dentist I spotted this heron landing near our house. So as soon as the car was parked I "flew" down the garden on to the shore. off course it flew further along the shore didn't it!

I managed some interesting in flight shots but felt the bird was a tad small in the frame. So, patient as ever, I tried to silently move along our rocky beach ; not an easy thing to do. I fired off a few shots as I moved and got more in flight shots as this bird is easily disturbed and flew off very quickly.

This was the best of the lot , cropped in a wee bit but I really liked the tones in the water and the sea weed which gives a lovely natural background for the heron. The sky was very bland any way so I was glad I had aimed the camera downwards to miss the sky.
Will be headin
g back down tonight to try to catch the heron with a fish in its beak. I did get one today but it was too blurry. Still I will get one some day - yet another of my self imposed challenges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.