The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Fungus 1: Amanita Fulva - Tawny Grisette

Well, Autumn's finally here! Anyone following my blips will know that I am keen on wildlife generally, and have spent the last year or so concentrating on learning about birds. Fungi, however, is something I have long been interested in and have a greater knowledge of. Over the last couple of weeks, I have seen the odd summer / autumn fungi start to appear and really just thought "well, that's early!" Today I saw two of the most common larger fungi and it just screamed out that the season has started - remarkably early, it has to be said. So, today, I thought I'd make a start on a fungus count. I could have also had a blusher (Amanita rubescens) but it was a poor shot, and I know there will be lots more of these around ere long.
Today, in Padley Gorge, a local beauty spot in the NE Peak District not too far from where I live I also saw of note a family of stonechat and a green woodpecker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.