Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Coast

The last time I visited this part of the coast the rain was coming horizontally from the sea. This morning wasn't quite this bad, but a dull drizzle engulfed the coast and as I had about 15 minutes to spare before I needed to be at the first of my school visits I decided to drive down to the cliff top. This is an interesting part of the coast. In the direction of this view (but out of sight) is the small Victorian resort of Saltburn with its pier and cliff side lifts. In the other direction is Redcar with its gritty seaside frontage and industrial landscape. The last time we were in Redcar a film company had converted several of the buildings into a set complete with bandstand and piles of sand and debris. You might have seen it. They used it as a backdrop for filming the Dunkirk scene in the film Atonement.

I debated whether to blip this more conventional village view of Ainsworth complete with wandering sheep, but have decided to add it to my folio instead. The sheep were sitting outside the Fox and Hounds Inn where we had walked to for our evening meal.

The work part of this visit is almost complete, I've just got to write the reports. Our holiday starts now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.