Today's the day

By sheilwill

Sands of Brora

Today's the day .................. to look out the window

I've been looking out the window of a train for twelve hours today - the entire length of Scotland from the far north coast to the English border - and then a bit of Cumbria to finish off.

I've seen some wonderful sights too (and the odd grotty bit) along the way. This was just the start of the sands at Brora where there's nothing between the railway track and the sea but a vast expanse of golden beach. There was a huge oil platform to be seen just a bit further south in Nigg Bay, lots of bridges and viaducts and every sort of countryside and farming land imaginable. I've stopped at what seems like hundreds of stations - from the request halts with one passenger and just a platform to the big centres like Inverness, Perth, Edinburgh and Carlisle.

I've had endless cups of tea, off trolleys pushed up and down the aisles by lots of different railway guards. It's been a great day - but I have to say I'm now ready to take myself off and curl up in my own little bed ......................!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.