end of school year...

...and she's just read her first ever book! It's taken a long time to get to the point past the anger at not being able to read to finding the concentration to get her head round those mean old letters that jump around the page and play tricks....but here we are, one story about an owl (told with A LOT of words) behind us and now cruising along the literacy highway. I'm so happy for her and she's so happy too.

Today a brief reference to Dylan Thomas and Laurie Lee set off a wave of homesickness for something that probably no longer exists....so, this piece of music that I was singing to herself just now is appropriately old and from the era of my life I sometime hanker after (even thought the song existed before I did...bear with me). Today, for a few minutes, I pretended that childhood was easy and hankered after it. Maybe it was just easy to let go of it all and enjoy the moment in those days?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.