Claartje's Fotsen

By Claartje

Like I need help parking...

Today I brought the car to the garage for it's check up. I received a car to use in the meantime. Since we drive a Lexus, I brought it to the Lexus garage and the car the lend me was also a Lexus. The thing is, they usually come with an automatic gearbox. Our car is one of the rare specimen that is equipped with a manual gearbox. Which I like; I need to play around a bit while driving. But that other car wasn't...

First of all they wanted me to get in this huge car, a new GS which looks something like this. Since they are still working on the sewer system near where we live, parking spaces are scarce and the last thing I need is a super huge car. Jaap will freak out when he hears what I turned down, but I'm ready to take that risk (and tell him). Then they offered me the (bit smaller but higher) Lexus jeep-like vehicle. Looks like this).

I told them that was still too big, I'd probably ruin it and that is was not such a good idea to let me drive it... Then they gave me their last car (which was also the smallest, why did they not offer me that to begin with?) a sapphire blue Lexus IS 250 (looks a bit like this). The man who had helped me pick the car I wanted (hahahaha) then gave me some instructions on how to drive around in an automatic gearboxed car: "Do not use the brake".
Ah... Very helpful.

I now know why he said that, after Ive managed to strangle myself a couple of times with the seatbelt when actually using the brake. When you use the brake, the car stops (well yeah, it''s supposed to do that). The point is, it stops immediately. So either I have to change the way I drive (er, no, rather not) or never drive that car again (much easier).

Then, when I came home from the garage, I wanted to park it in reverse. No problem you say. Actually when I put it in reverse, the image I blipped for today appeared. It's probably the only thing I liked about that car. Since I had already parked when I noticed it I then drove forward again to park it again and take a picture of the parking-help.

Just for you.



More pictures.



But just between you-and-me I'd rather have Molly back. Will blip her some time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.