Evil Goat

By evilgoat

I really like the Lake District.

I like it so much, i bought a piece of it for my kitchen.

This is from Honister slate mine, so I presume it was part of Fleetwith Pike.

I had all sorts of concern about getting it in without it breaking or it being the wrong size. - There was no templating, all done to a drawing. I took the measurements then asked an engineer at work to draw it up for me. No longer can I work the CAD!

Big thanks to Adam, James and Iain for the manpower. We ratchet strapped it to two woodne joists to support the sink opening and carried it straight into position. Fitted perfectly. :-D

I can't stop looking at it, it's so beautiful. There's loads of character to the surface, much more variation than Granite, it's full of gorgeous layers.

Can you tell I'm quite chuffed about my purchase.

More Pics here.

I can imagine that some people may disapprove of mining happening in a national park etc.... well I think it's better to buy a superior british product mined in a sustainable and controlled manner than get an inferior piece of Chinese slate shipped half way round the world from a mine with possibly questionable employment practices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.