Life with Gaia

By happyyoga

Flowery Day

Today I did not even get out of my pajamas and spent most of the day working on the computer or photographing the flowers left over from Marya's visit.

It was great having her home for almost a week. I finally went kayaking with her on the Loxahatchee River. At first, one would have thought we were in bumper cars at a carnival, and we made many an apology to the cypress knees we scraped. We turned back thinking we would avoid a huge alligator along the side, not that it was particularly threatening as it was sunning itself. but we didn't think it would be happy were we to use it as a bumper too.

Happenings seem to mirror our thoughts, so we managed to take our kayak smack into a nesting area. Thankfully by then we had learned how to maneuver, because we needed to get out of there quickly (or so we felt) as Marya was coming face to face with one that was holding a knife and fork.

I'd been mulling over paddling that river for 25 years! What always stopped me were the "Beware of alligators" signs. It was great fun though. (I don't think I want to do it again.)

No photos of that day. The camera would have been as drenched as we were.

(Hope your sunburn is better sweetie! You are officially a Northerner now.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.