The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Ice Cream Face

"What evidence do you have that I have been eating ice cream?"

On 26th June, I blipped a beautifully serene photo of my daughter with the sun reflecting brightly behind her giving a soft focus and glow that made her look older than her years (Sunny Outlook). Today I prove that, if nothing else, I am a man of integrity and therefore to present a balance, I feel morally obliged to publish the above photograph (with her approval I might add).

She has not yet reached her 7th birthday after all and no matter how we parents can lose sight of how our children are growing up, this one proves that she is still my LITTLE girl.

The postcript to this was that I routinely refuse to buy her ice cream from the van that sits outside the school gate when I pick her up on Thursdays (Daddy Day) but today I visited her class for their Celebration of Work afternoon to look at her classwork. As a reward for reinforcing my pride in her, I bought her the offending frozen dairy product which as you can see, she proceeded to smear on her face. I do believe that she ate some of it and appeared to enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.