The Corner of Your Heart

By LifeInEveryWord

I've begun to trust the view here

I don't think I've ever gone for a walk in the dark alone before
With only one headphone in so that I can hear impending dangers around me
But with no one else on the streets it was a great opportunity for me to clear my head

I was talking to a friend last night about how I'm not used to being alone
How it was odd for me to not be on someone's arm at the party
How it was the first time where I had felt insecure about who to talk to
But I was okay
I found friends and acquaintences to hold up decent conversations with and made him so angry in the process
And I couldn't stop smiling

I'm finally moving on to a safer place
Having innocent little crushes and having guy friends instead of boyfriends
Being friends with girls who I hadn't had time for in the past
Being who I've wanted to be for so long
I have the opportunity now to leave without the worry of what I'm leaving behind
I think I'm finally doing alright here

Though I can't say I completely enjoy walking alone at night

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.